touchopk.blogg.se

Shapr3d for ipad
Shapr3d for ipad








shapr3d for ipad

One creates an outline shape, sweeps it, Booleans with others - a very natural way to create even complex shapes. Shapr3D uses direct modeling (as did my stone-age CAD, so I was very familiar with how it all works) to create geometry, and its user interface is fast and easy to navigate. Honestly, Shapr3D is so much easier to learn than any CAD I’ve ever used (but remember, it’s not my primary job anymore, so YMMV) and the touch/Apple Pencil interface on the iPad is incredibly intuitive. The boxes arrived-there might have been a little dancing with excitement at unboxing-and I dove right into Shapr3D’s tutorials. Digital paper isn’t enough I need CAD but also to be looking at what’s going on, maybe even using Shapr features, like importing a picture, to start a design idea.” “Traditional CAD didn’t work for how I work - I must be surrounded by living things, pallets of parts, the robot, its camera, the computer that shows the point cloud generated by the camera … I need a living canvas in my hand, with a pencil, so that I can draw what I see and imagine. Fáborský (remember, not a CAD guy) found out about Shapr3D from the Apple App store and decided to give it a try. He’s really passionate about this: “Yes, we have webcams pointing at the pallet-so we could monitor remotely-but then we don’t have the feel or hear the sounds of what is going on.”Ĭombine the desire to be on the production floor with the need to create sketches of the pallet, grippers, and other parts of the system-or the whole system-and what technology do you use? Fáborský tells me he spends hours on the production floor, sitting next to the robot and watching how it acts in response to camera guidance. Fáborský doesn’t have is traditional CAD, yet he needs to sketch out how the robot welder moves, the bins it picks from, and the enclosure it works in, to design the optimal setup. These robots are guided by cameras and other optical instruments, another of Mr. Fáborský’s particular expertise is the design and commissioning of robots on welding lines. Fáborský works in the tooling department, with 1300 other people, preparing all of the tooling for welding, casting, and stamping production lines. Late last year, Shapr3D’s Ron Close arranged for me to speak with Radek Fáborský at ŠKODA AUTO, the European car company.

shapr3d for ipad

So when the good folks at Shapr3D combined my love of CAD with my Apple fangirl-ness and sent me a spanking new iPad Pro, Apple Pencil, and an M-1 Apple MacBook Air on which to try Shapr3D, I couldn’t resist.

shapr3d for ipad

Today I love talking to CAD people about what they do, along with the why and the how. I used to demo CAD in some of my product management roles. A long time ago, after the advent of the PC but before Bitcoin. You probably don’t know this about me, but I used to be really good at CAD.










Shapr3d for ipad